danger zone.

Since my refrigerator is officially bare, I grabbed dinner for my train ride at my number one danger zone:  the Whole Foods salad bar.

When I was in Prague, my boss and I used to enjoy lunch at a vegan cafe called “Country Life.”  We often discussed how thankful we were for the few health-conscious restaurants in the city center, as my boss was one of maybe four Czechs who were vegetarians.  Country Life provided us with the largest hot and cold salad bar in the city.

It offered, however, about a tenth of the options on display at Whole Foods.  Possibly less.

I never go to the WF salad bar.  Not that it isn’t delicious – everything always is.  But I am physically incapable of putting less than 2 pounds of salad in my box, which results in $17 that could have bought me salad ingredients for a week.

Knowing that I have a lot of excessive vacation meals on the horizon, I managed to keep myself relatively under control tonight.

IMG_2868

I still went for the largest container though.

IMG_2870

In the mix is roughly every vegetable available, plus some chickpeas and kidney beans, and a couple tastes of prepared salads (far less than normal).  I topped it with globs of hummus (one of the few surviving ingredients in my refrigerator), and now it’s all packed for the train.  Kind of like my suitcase should be.

I’ve got some posts set to show you all around our paradise town, and I’ll be blogging our restaurant visits, because there are some fabulous ones up there.  See you all from vacationland!


Are you as out of control as I am at salad bars?

8 Comments

Filed under dinner

8 responses to “danger zone.

  1. Glad to know I am not the only one who considers the salad bar a mini-heaven. Is there anything better?

  2. Um, yes. Mine usually cost somewhere between $8-12 when I am finished. Bad!

  3. I visited a Whole Foods salad bar a few weeks ago and was weary of spending a lot of money, but I managed to get a delicious lunch with their prepared foods for 7 dollars. This may be because of all the posts I’ve read on using a hefty hand at the Whole Foods salad bar, though!

  4. I love salad bars!!!! I’d probably spend as much as you do!

  5. Kelsey

    Mmmmm I live for salad bars!

  6. Oh God I love the salad bar. I could just eat from one every day 🙂 Have a great trip.

  7. theres nothing better than the WF salad bar… i get mine weighed and its always over a lb.. and i finish every last bite. amazing

  8. It’s been a while since I’ve had a WF salad–since February. I am always overwhelmed by all of the veggie options.

    I have to remember to choose light foods so I don’t pay as much. But I’m always super tempted by mashed potatoes. Your choices look healthy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

