american appreciation.

Huge thanks to the 65 (!) of you who commented on my blog it forward post.  I’ve contacted ShopRite to see if they’ll donate a box of cereal for every comment, rather than only thirty.  Stay tuned!

 

Last week, it occurred to me that I have been back living in the US for exactly one year.  In some ways, this year has been crawling by, and yet I still find myself wondering how twelve months escaped so quickly.  I suppose that is just life.

I often reminisce about my expatriate days, waxing on about the pieces and places I miss, along with the many things taken for granted in this country.  But, over the past few days, I’ve been recalling the American comforts I was ready (and lucky) to return to.  Leaving Prague was bittersweet; while I felt I was abandoning a part of myself, I was also anticipating the next chapter of my life on native turf.  Though it feels long ago, I can remember looking forward to quite a few things.

asparagus and jicama salad

Vegetarian-friendly dining.  The lone vegetarian dish still considered Czech?  Smazeny syr, a block of breaded and deep fried cheese.

corn

Produce native to our soil, namely corn on the cob and butternut squash.

IMG_1382

The ocean – I could never permanently settle somewhere without seaside access.  I actually used to go to a faux beach along the river in Prague, where the sand was imported and the water was not recommended for dipping.  Not quite a beach.

trader joe's

Trader Joe’s.  The local “health food” store was roughly the size of my New York bedroom, and while it did have a delicious cafe attached, it didn’t quite compare, especially when it came to prices.

peanut butter

Peanut butter for under $15 a jar.

place setting

Order.  Endless red tape and an affinity for stamps and signatures don’t quite top my list of enjoyable memories…

IMG_2830

New York.


What American comforts do you think you’d miss?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “american appreciation.

  1. I totally know where you’re coming from! I missed cheap health food stores, especially Trader Joe’s! But I tried to think about the things I would miss about Belgium while I was there, like speculoos and good cheese!

  2. A

    When I lived outside of the US I missed stores like TJ’s and Whole Foods….. I also missed things being open on Sunday and at lunchtime. Everything in Italy closed from 12-4pm. Um what?!?!? LOL!
    -A

  3. That’s great that you got 65 comments! woooot!

  4. lowandbhold

    I haven’t been over seas yet so I have a hard time thinking of things I would miss, but I’m sure there are many. Like trashy American TV, haha!

  5. If I moved from the UK I’d definitley miss English telly programmes and probably the English accent. But as I’ve never travelled out of the UK I guess it’d be like the saying “you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone” so we’ll have to wait and see if I ever travel abroad.

  6. There are a bunch of things I miss every time I live abroad and Korea has definitely been the most difficult. Everything you listed above — especially TJ’s and cheap PB — plus finding meals that aren’t either fried or filled with white rice/gelatinous rice product, walking into a store/restaurant/doctor’s office and being able to communicate with ease, avoiding second-hand smoke…

    The oddest thing about Korea is being stared at *everywhere*.

  7. my doggie. i wouldn’t be able to travel with him!

Leave a Reply

