chopped and colored.

Thanks to everyone who commented on my post earlier.  If you haven’t yet, please do!  Your comment equals a food bank donation!


Today, I visited my hairdresser for a trim and a bit of color.  I have absurdly thick hair, and up until two years ago, it was also very very long.  My aunt actually used to call it my mane.  Here’s an embarrassing collegiate photo:

college

Yeah.  

A little over a year ago, I noticed that my hair wasn’t nearly as thick as it had been all my life.  It was never thin, but it was surprisingly normal – straightening it didn’t take the hour it used to.  Slowly but surely, though, as I graduated from a teaspoon of peanut butter to a tablespoon, from a tablespoon to multiple dips in the jar, from only peanut butter to avocados and olive oil as well, I saw my hair’s thickness return.

Today, my hairdresser commented that my hair has gotten even thicker.  I give credit to health, and to healthy fat.

My dinner tonight had healthy fats as the star:

pine nuts

I am still amazed by my food processor.

creamy cilantro pesto

  • 1/2 c pine nuts, soaked for 2 hours or more
  • juice of 1/4 lemon
  • 1 bunch cilantro (including stems)
  • 1-2 T nutritional yeast, to taste
  • water, as needed

Blend pine nuts in food processor until creamy.  Add lemon juice, pulse to combine.  Add cilantro, nutritional yeast, and water if needed; pulse again until well combined.

IMG_2813

I served some over shredded summer squash, steamed asparagus, sun dried tomatoes, and quinoa.  Yum.


Do you change your hairstyle often?

7 Comments

Filed under dinner

7 responses to “chopped and colored.

  1. Love the healthy fat post. I used to be weary of peanut butter, but now that I realize all of its benefits and satiety power (and um, it’s delicious) I embrace the good stuff!

  2. Kelsey

    love this post!
    i can relate on all accounts about the hair and i’m glad you talked about this, as it made me think about my own accomplishments. with all the healthy fats i’ve been incorporating into my diet [a real feat considering i was terrified of just a measly drizzle of PB not even a few months ago] i have really noticed my hair becoming more healthy and thick, back to its normal self!
    thanks for reitterating [is that the right word? lol]the importance of healthy fats!

  3. A couple of times a year, I’ll alter the color (just a little darker or lighter, depending on my mood). I’ll keep my look fresh by cutting it about every two months. Changing our hairstyle is such a simple way to get a brand new look!

    And “cheers” to thick hair! 😉

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. April (Foods of April)

    I’m so happy I found your blog yesterday! Your meals look amazing!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  5. i’ve had the same hairstyle FOREVER. i got bangs for a movie last year, but that’s about as adventurous as i get.

    lovely looking meal!!!

  6. Wow, I love this recipe, Leslie! I’m going to make it soon — bookmarked!

  7. Pingback: packing for eating. « the whole plate

Leave a Reply

