piling on the layers.

When I look back at how I developed my sense of style, it all comes back to layering.  I spent high school in a basic “uniform” consisting of jeans and various graphic t-shirts, and though I had ideas on how to expand my dull wardrobe, I didn’t yet possess the confidence to put those concepts into practice.

As my infatuation with fashion grew and my wallet somehow shrank, I became expert at assembling outfits based on layers, transforming three tops into a single one, then rearranging the same three the following day.  It’s one of the ways I express myself creatively; I know my boundaries (the contents of my closet), and I work within them.

Layering works with food too.  Take tonight’s dinner:

IMG_2772

A bed of red chard, topped by steamed sweet potato (only because I didn’t want to turn on my oven), smushed avocado, and capped with a poached egg.  The layer to complete the dish: a sprinkle of salt, pepper, and hot sauce.  There was also some asparagus on the side because, well, why not?


Are you a fan of layering?  Or do you keep your style less complex?

5 Comments

Filed under dinner

5 responses to “piling on the layers.

  1. Delicious! One of the best uses of hot sauce I have seen yet…besides my own uses of course! 😉

  2. Poached egg looks perfect!
    Layering clothes is big here in Japan. I’m in awe at their fashion sense.
    As for food, I’m more on the mix and match type. 😀

  3. Layering definitely makes things look so much cooler, esp if the colors are vibrant and different! Loving the poached egg!

  4. Love layers…everything from clothing to food. Only think I don’t like in layers is stacks of bills to pay. One is more than enough 😛

  5. I’m a huge fan of layers! I’m not as good at it as I’d like to be though, I’d like to be a bit more bold and mix different patterns and such that I would ordinarily say don’t necessarily go together. And I would like to work scarves more!

Leave a Reply

