second chances.

As someone who is relatively shy, I never judge based on first impressions.  Upon first encountering someone, I spend more time listening than speaking, more time observing than acting.  Of course, over time, I open up.  

Consequently, I am always happy to provide anyone and anything with a second (or third, fourth…) chance.

radishes

I’ve tried radishes a few times.  They were always raw, and the flavor just didn’t sit well with me.  But I decided to buy some nonetheless, experiment with my oven, and give them another opportunity to impress me.  Tonight I sliced them up and roasted them for 30 minutes, hoping for success.

Along with the radishes, I roasted asparagus, then layered the vegetables on top of mustard greens, quinoa, and Trader Joe’s sweet and tangy almonds (these are like crack.  Not kidding).  Topped with a simple balsamic vinaigrette (olive oil, basamic vinegar, salt, pepper, ground mustard):

IMG_2649

This was my first experience with mustard greens, which I randomly added to my grocery cart this week.  They were… pungent.  Of course, I’ll give them another shot, but I may need to mask the flavor a bit.  I think these are the first type of greens I haven’t instantly loved!

The radishes, on the other hand?  Completely delicious.  Second chances are always worthwhile.


Have you given any foods a second chance?

13 Comments

Filed under dinner

13 responses to “second chances.

  1. i believe i’ve given radishes a second chance as well! i don’t love em, but i definitely don’t hate em…i just never buy them!!!

  2. Radishes definitely is a taste to be required, all right! The French love them on a thick buttered baguette!
    I’ve given food second chances before, namely tofu, avocado, broccoli. I LOVE broccoli now, kinda like avocado, and can just tolerate tofu.

  3. I’m going to try radishes again, this time roasted! I’ve had them raw and they were too…peppery (?) for my taste.

  4. Kelsey

    That looks so yum!!!! I have only had radishes raw, but I actually do love them that way. I will try them cooked next time!
    I always ‘said’ i hated onions and peppers when i was young. But now? Yes, I love them :]

  5. Oh, there are a lot of food that I gave second, third, and so on chances. Avocado, tofu, natto (fermented soy beans), tomato, and loads more. I can’t imagine NOT eating them now.

  6. Aw, I’m so happy to read this. Cuz I detest radishes, and I’ve tried them several ways. But I love that you gave them another go and now like them. 🙂

  7. Not very exotic, but I recently gave tomatoes and bell peppers a second chance and discovered if not true love, something darn well close!

  8. So agree with you. seconds chances are necessary both for people and food 🙂

  9. Roasting vegetables brings out such a different flavour! I used to hate brussel sprouts- now I roast them aand they are one of my favourite vegetables 🙂

  10. Alison

    I think it would be incredibly amusing if you used the phrase “enter the radish”.. thoughts?

  11. You know, I’ve never actually tried radishes before. They’re one of those foods I hear of all the time, but basically have no idea what to do with. You dish definitely looks delicious though!!!

    Artichokes are one food that I had to give a second chance. They are so healthy and I’m glad I did!

    xxoo
    Heather

  12. I absolutely adore pickled mustard greens. They’re popular in Chinese dishes…I would love to know what you think of them.

  13. Pingback: biking + bbq. « the whole plate

Leave a Reply

