satisfaction.

This is for all of my fellow twentysomethings struggling at the bottom of the working ladder.

You know those days where you are actually able to use your brain?  Where you remember your goals and how capable you are of doing the work you aspire to do?  Where someone in charge trusts you to do that work and you perform it well?  You know, those days that come about twice every 365?

I had one today.  It was nice. 🙂

So was my dinner:

salmon and roasted vegetables

Nothing fancy, just roasted vegetables and broiled salmon with a bit of fresh basil.  

Many times, I find my meals mirror my mood.  Seventeen-ingredient stew?  I have a lot on my mind.  Warm and starchy?  Seeking comfort.  Today, I felt satisfied, and it only took the basics to echo it.


When was the last time you felt rewarded by your work (or study)?

8 Comments

Filed under dinner

8 responses to “satisfaction.

  1. Oh my goodness. They need more books out there on this very subject. I had a very interesting day at work today… where I really just tried to “be myself” and really “speak my mind.”

    All night I’ve been stressing over what I said and whether it might hurt me! It’s crazy talk…

    I have most recently felt rewarded my a comment from my prof who said that my recent book was the ‘new rose’. That was really cool 🙂

  2. i’m glad you had a good day. i totally remember being there, and i have to admit, i’m still struggling and figuring it all out.

  3. Our once-a-year conference that I basically spend most of the year prepping for was in June and I felt super appreciated and like I did an awesome job. It really felt like all the hard work paid off – which like you say, isn’t necessarily a daily feeling!!

    Interesting that you think you eat meals determined by your mood in that way. I’ll have to pay some attention to that now!

  4. thank you for this post! yesterday unfortunately was one of those brain-dead days for me. maybe today will be more engaging? that dinner looks perfect. where do you buy your fish? i am thinking frozen wild salmon from whole foods would be a good choice since i don’t have a ton of money, but maybe i could get it fresh somewhere else? i’ll do some research.

    when was the last time i felt rewarded by my work? when i took a day off! hah. 😛

    • Hi Sofia!

      My mom actually bought that fish for me from Costco because I can’t afford to buy it on my own. Sad. But, I do think Trader Joe’s has pretty good prices on frozen salmon if you ever venture out there. I haven’t found a good deal on fresh fish yet – but I’m always looking. Let me know if your research pays off. 🙂

      Hope you have a wonderful Wednesday! Leslie

  5. I’ve had a few rewarding moments in my job. I’ve been there nearly 2 years and started at the bottom and each time someone has left I was asked if I’d like to train up on that job instead of them bringing in someone new. I took this as a compliment and have moved up a couple of rungs on the ladder, so to speak.

  6. Hmm, that is a good question. I am still in school–grad school starts in the fall…so I guess I cannot really answer that question.

    I am hoping when I start teaching Zumba–I will feel rewarded after each class if the participants really like it and keep coming back. Ahhh, what if they don’t like me?!?! haha

  7. I’m glad you had a good day! I got a raise last friday…so I had some vino. 😀

Leave a Reply

