credit where credit is due.

In my weekly hot yoga class yesterday, my mind drifted, for a moment, away from an intense focus on the practice.

Towards the beginning, the instructor had us stand tall in Tadasana, feet hip width apart.  As she circled the room, adjusting what can seem the simplest of postures, she invited me to move my feet closer together.  Her words?  “Give yourself some more credit.”

I couldn’t help but smile.

greek yogurt and granolapost yoga snacking

The yoga studio I attend has three distinct walls.  Morning light streams through the windows on one; a single ballet bar adorns another; a third is composed entirely of floor to ceiling mirrors.  I never look in the mirrors.

Perhaps if I did, I might have seen that my feet were spread too wide.  But in that room, my reflection never tempts me.  Yoga has become a place where I am free from any needs or desires to dwell on the shape of my body. 

Ninety percent of the time, I do see myself as I am, and I am proud of it.  But those occasions do arise where old habits blindside me, and I can’t see my size realistically.  Rather than fixating on these moments, though, I evaluate them and move on.  

My feet were opened too far; some part of me believed they were mirroring my hips.  So, I moved them inward, and I drifted for a minute as I considered my past and my present.  I grinned, appreciating yoga for continuing to educate me day after day, and I returned to my mat.


What helps you to accept yourself as you are?

8 Comments

Filed under exercise, Uncategorized

8 responses to “credit where credit is due.

  1. this is such a great post…it’s so easy to criticise ourselves without realising how much progress we have made. Dance classes remind me of the same thing 🙂

  2. What a great post. I am glad that your yoga is becoming a getaway for you. That is the best kind.

  3. i like this.

    what helps me accept myself? a good chat with a close friend, in which we divulge in great detail our dreams and fears and everything in between. hearing the words of another either in support or from a constructive/critical standpoint always helps me ground myself and feel like i deserve credit and acceptance.

  4. Great post. Just knowing myself and doing simple things daily make me accept who I am. Sharing a laugh with a friend is reaffirmation about what makes me happy while recognizing a personal shortcoming keeps me grounded and makes me want to better myself.

  5. Amy

    This was a great story from your practice. Thank you for sharing, leslie! What you got from yoga today is just one of the many life lessons it bestows upon us.

  6. what a beautiful post! I really really loved everything you said, and how you invited us into your yoga class to experience the same epiphany you had regarding accepting yourself.

  7. This is such an encouraging and enlightening post. We all need to love ourselves more–we need to love us for who we are. We are all unique and special in our own way–why not embrace this?!

  8. My friends and family really help me to accept myself as I am. They’ve stuck by me through out all my struggles and doubts and help me stay grounded.

Leave a Reply

