putting it together.

As a toddler, my favorite toy was a palm sized doll entitled “Wish World Kid.”  Each doll came with a different convertible home – a bed that unfolded into a playground, a bathtub disguising a swimming pool and beach, a dresser doubling as a beauty salon.  When each wish world was stowed on my closet shelf, the pieces conveniently fit together into tiny compartments, producing a perfectly organized storage facility.

I’ve always loved putting pieces together.  As I traded Wish Worlds for my American Girl doll, I spent hours scouring the pages of the Pleasant Company catalogue, carefully sketching stars next to the kits I desired for Samantha.  Those that appealed the most often contained multiple parts – a book set with pencils, paper, and a shoulder strap; a summer outfit with a cap, whistle, and boots.  

It’s no surprise that I bring the same fondness for multi-part collections to meals.  In particular, I find that lunch has to be the most well-composed, full of complimentary morsels.  

I believe everyone has different needs.  Some people find a single sandwich fulfilling.  Some can’t combine fruits and grains.  Some crave volume.  Some, like me, just enjoy all the individual pieces:

vegetablesvegetables, usually in massive salad form

grainsgrains

fatsfavorite fats:  hummus, almond butter, avocado, goat cheese

vegetarian proteinvegetarian protein: chickpeas, nuts, yogurt, leafy greens

fruitfruit for a sweet ending

With more than half the day left to conquer following lunch, one lone piece simply won’t cut it.



What makes up your perfect lunch?

10 Comments

Filed under lunch

10 responses to “putting it together.

  1. mmmmm today it’s roasted veggies and chickpeas with an orange on the side.

  2. verbalriot

    Lovely photos! My perfect lunch includes veggies, definitely bread and a sweet treat 🙂

  3. Amy

    Such a lovely post, as usual! I love piecing and pairing things–everything I own, I like it to have a “partner”. Or a match. Or a compliment!

  4. Your blog is delightful! I absolutely love it. 🙂

    My idea of a perfect lunch is one that has a host of different flavors and textures. It needs crunch and variety, with a sweet note to finish it off (sometimes that means dark chocolate, or sometimes fruit with a bit of nut butter.) 🙂

  5. That’s how I put my meals together… 😀

    Hmm, lunch is my favourite meal so that’s hard to pick! I would say a wholewheat wrap filled with homemade chicken salad with dried cranberries and walnuts in it. Crunch, sweetness, chew, protein, healthy fat, wholegrains…all in one wrap!

  6. Such a neat post. I love the way you look at things… you have an awesome perspective. 🙂

    I always try to aim for as many food groups as possible. I like a carb, protein, healthy fat, veggies and/or fruit, and dairy. There are so many delicious foods out there to mix things up with!

    xxoo
    Heather

  7. Lovely post 🙂

    My favourite lunch would be a sandwich made with my fav bread and include meat and veggies, then a pck crisps and fruit on the side.

  8. traveleatlove

    Lately my perfect lunch when working from home (having access to my own kitchen!) is an Arnold multi grain sandwich thin toasted, topped with tomato, avocado, goat cheese, and Franks hot sauce. Served with a bowl of cherries and a sparkling pomegranate seltzer water. I can’t get enough!

  9. LOVE the photos! im with you on goat cheese– its my favorite!!!!

    i love lunch bc it can be both sweet and savory– i have a weird thing about eating sweet for dinner and savory for breakfast– but lunch can be either 🙂 oxoxoxo

  10. Fats never looked so delicious!
    Veggies, brown rice, and tea.

Leave a Reply

