eggplant pizza.

It is approximately 462 degrees in my apartment right now.

And yet, I decided to turn the oven on.  Why?  Roasted eggplant and melted goat cheese sounded too good.  

[I am now guzzling water and trying to decide if it was worth it].

eggplant pizza

This was an easy meal.  I just brushed some eggplant slices with olive oil and roasted them.  Halfway through, I topped them with tomato paste, fresh oregano, caramelized onion, and goat cheese.  Back in the oven for another 10 minutes – dinner was born, and I was officially living in a sauna.

eggplant pizza 2

I know some of you are thinking the crust of pizza is the best part.  Don’t worry, there was plenty of bread consumed alongside.  

eggplant pizza, kale, bread

I’m going to go park myself in front of the fan now.  It’s too hot in here!


What’s your favorite kind of pizza?

11 Comments

Filed under dinner

11 responses to “eggplant pizza.

  1. I’ve never tried the eggplant pizzas, but they look like they were worth the sauna sacrifice.

    As for my favorite pizzas, I’m an Amy’s girl when it comes down to it. The Pesto pizza is my top and the Margherita is a close second. If I’m making a “traditional” pizza, I’m boring with just cheese and mushrooms. I put the fungus on everything…

  2. Amy

    What perfectly petite little pizzas. I definitely don’t like using the oven during summer, but this looks worth it.

    Any pizza with lots and lots of sauteed, roasted, or seasoned vegetables and sweet crust! I do not like cheese what-so-ever and never have :O

  3. i am drooling drooling drooling– that looks INCREDIBLE!!

    my fav pizza? goat cheese, sundried tomato, spinach and caramelized onion 🙂 perfection!!

    LOVE the pics of croatia– i’ve heard its just amazing ! thanks for sharing 🙂 xoxo

  4. not to mention the last post was just so fabulously written–i LOVE the whole european outlook on life– especially when it comes to embracing femininity, the moment and enjoying all of lives flavors and experiences 🙂

  5. What a great idea using the eggplant as the crust, it never even occurred to me to do this.
    My favourite pizza is a BBQ chicken pizza I get from my local takeaway, the BBQ sauce they use is incredible and they don’t skimp on the toppings either. I could just eat one now 🙂

  6. I’ve got to be honest, I actually don’t like pizza! I know, what teenager doesn’t like pizza??? But I just never had a taste for it.

    On the other hand, this eggplant looks insanely delicious! LOVE it!!! How did you “roast” it??? I’ve only actually heard of sauteeing eggplant.

    xxoo
    Heather

    • Heather,

      Just drizzle it with some olive oil and pop it in the oven at 400 for about 20-25 minutes. You can do anything with eggplant, just like other vegetables! I like it raw and grilled too. 🙂

  7. Your eggplant pizzas look fantastic! My favorite pizza is just plain veggie. yum.

  8. YUM!!! I had a thin crust pizza last night out to dinner–it was prosciutto, tomatoes, basil, and mozzarella cheese. That was pretty dang good. But I will have to say Mellow Mushroom has the best pizzas because the crust is perfect. My favorite pizza is a splurge b/c I can never eat just two pieces. Ever. haha. It is called the “Funky Chicken” pizza. It has grilled chicken, pesto, hot italian sausage, lots of cheese….whewww. Delish.

  9. yummy! the best pizza i’ve ever had is at pepe’s pizzeria in new haven – clam pizza!!!

  10. Margherita.
    I got some eggplants right now and this looks amazing (caramelized onion!). Might give it a try but it’s too hot right now. :s

Leave a Reply

