beet it.

I apologize for the title of this post.  I just had to do it.

I’ve never actually bought a beet before.  Mostly out of fear of permanently rosy fingertips, or apprehension due to stories of splattered beet juice, stained counters, and pink streaks across foreheads.  

beet

I don’t know why I was so afraid of this little guy.  No discoloration was caused in the making of this dinner.

warm summer squash and beet salad

  • 1 red beet, cut into 1″ pieces
  • 1 yellow squash, cut in 1″ pieces
  • 1/2 c fennel greens
  • 3 c steamed kale
  • 1 oz goat cheese
  • 1/2 c chickpeas
  • chopped Brazil nuts for garnish

Preheat oven to 400.  Roast beets for 20 minutes.  Add squash; roast 20 more minutes.  Toss with fennel greens, goat cheese, and chickpeas.  Layer on top of kale; garnish with Brazil nuts.

Here’s a fact:  I never peel my vegetables.  Sometimes the skin is the best part.  This may have been my first at-home beet experience, but my peeler went nowhere near the skin.

beet and squash salad

I’ve been hard at work on several projects tonight, and this plate was a delightful interlude.


Have you ever cooked a food that intimidated you? 

10 Comments

Filed under dinner

10 responses to “beet it.

  1. I have never cooked a beet either! hmmm. Not sure I am a fan. I have tried the pickled variety, just meh to me. Perhaps I should try this recipe?

  2. Another creative dish! I love it 🙂

    The first time I bought tempeh I was totally scared!

  3. hey girl!
    im so glad that you found the info on the zohar interesting 🙂 !!

    i LOVE beets! they are soo good 🙂 xoxo

  4. beets are pretty intimidating – they stain, they take a long time, and what to do with all those darn greens on top of them?! but once you make ’em….all worth it!

  5. Never bought/cooked beet before, too. There are a few veggies that intimidate me. Thanks to your post, I’m inspired to give them a try next time.

  6. lol, I actually loved the title, very smart.
    Hmm…I cooked jicama, which was kinda intimidating, and plantains.

  7. I’ve had quite the experience with asparagus, but normally I’m pretty good with new foods. I just love experimenting with them and trying them out!

    xxoo
    Heather

  8. I’m totally making this! I have some beets in the fridge right now!

  9. what a beautiful dish.

    (I’ve never tried beets!)

  10. I’m also intimidated by fresh beets, but that salad looks delicious 😀

Leave a Reply

