portobellos + cooking for two.

As my cooking skills have developed, I’ve come to truly enjoy preparing dishes for others.  Where I view cooking to be a relaxing, therapeutic process, I know many who find it taxing and stress-inducing.  My sister (and roommate) is one of those people.  Most evenings, I offer her a description of the dish I’m dreaming up, and I let her decide if I should make enough for two.  Summer rolls?  Thumbs up.  Serious salad?  Not so much.  To each her own, right?

Tonight, after providing an account of what I planned to cook, I was greeted with the demand request, “I want that.  I am so having some of that.  I am so having a lot of that.  On my plate!”

We have a good relationship.  🙂

portobello mushroom

hummus stuffed portobello mushrooms (makes 2)

  • 2 portobello mushrooms
  • evoo
  • 1/4 c hummus
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 roma tomato, diced
  • 2 T fresh oregano
  • 1/4 t ground black pepper
  • 1-2 T pine nuts

Preheat oven to 400.  Lightly coat mushrooms with olive oil and roast, stem side up, for 10 minutes.  Mix together hummus, garlic, tomato, oregano, and pepper.  Pour mixture into mushrooms.  Roast 10 more minutes.  Garnish with pine nuts.

stuffed portobello mushroom

Served on a bed of baby spinach, bulgur (cooked in vegetable broth), and chickpeas.

stuffed portobello mushroom


Do you enjoy cooking for others?

14 Comments

Filed under dinner

14 responses to “portobellos + cooking for two.

  1. traveleatlove

    I love cooking for my husband, and he is always really appreciative.
    I am always looking for new mushroom recipes, thanks for sharing!

  2. Oh my god. This recipe combines so many of my favorite things. I’ve never seen a hummus-stuffed mushroom cap. It’s such a good idea!

  3. mmmmm that looks divine! I would ‘so have a lot of that’ as well!

  4. Oh. My. God.
    I’m not a creative cook, but mushrooms and hummus are two of my favorite things. I put the fungus in everything.

    I might actually try that delicious recipe or pay you an extraordinary amount of money to come to my house and prepare it every day until I can’t stand the sight of a mushroom again.

  5. I am so having some of that please. 🙂
    You have great cooking skills! And beautiful plating!

  6. I actually hate cooking for others! I get so nervous they won’t like it. So I mainly just cook for me =)

  7. beautiful bello’s! i love cooking for others – i find it incredibly soothing….

  8. Amy

    What a delicious dish! Simple yet the perfect flavor combination. Your sister is lucky to have such a creative cook as a roommate.

    I am too self conscious to cook for others…and plus, I always think what I eat is “weird” or “too healthy” to them…maybe!

  9. Amy

    Oh, scratch that. I made my brother an amazing homemade smores last night with a Whole Foods vanilla marshmallow (the big cube ones) and a brownie bite, sandwiched between a graham cracker. He said it was amazing !

  10. This is GORGEOUS, Leslie! I hope to make a raw portobello dish soon 🙂

  11. i do like cooking for others 🙂

    i can’t believe I’ve never put hummus in a mushroom, but what a great idea!

  12. Jeez! That looks delicious – and is perfect for cooking for two, you could even just make one, cut it in half after cooking, serve as a side dish.

  13. I’m totally with you on cooking being a way to relax and experiment with new foods. I find such joy in cooking, although I always like sampling my latest dishes myself before cooking for others. Even so, my dad is my favorite food critic, and I love getting his reactions to my dishes (after I’ve had the first taste! ;)).

    xxoo
    Heather

  14. Pingback: Portobello Mushrooms «

Leave a Reply

