keep it simple.

This summer has been all about minimalism for me.  While I take considerable pleasure in imagining culinary combinations, I have been delighting in the pure, untouched,and unmixed just as much.

avocado

Avocado – enjoyed several days a week with nothing but a spoon and a sprinkle of sea salt.

fennel

Fennel –  complexity in one simple food: the lovely smell of licorice, the crunch of the bulb, the intensity of the greens.

cucumber and tomato

Cucumber and tomato – a perfect complimentary pair.

water

Water – carried with me wherever I go.

salt and pepper

Salt and pepper – the classic pair, only enhancing flavor that already exists.

stone fruit

Stone fruit – nothing matches their pure sweetness, right down to the pit.

white clothing

White clothing – true summer, even on my pale skin.



What are your favorite simple things?

10 Comments

Filed under inspiration

10 responses to “keep it simple.

  1. avocado + salt = perfection.

    nothing else needed 🙂

  2. Fresh fruit, particularly berries. Blue or black. You need nothing else.

  3. I could eat avocado plain for days…

  4. White clothing sums up Summer outfits.

    And for a true Brit cucumber sandwiches 🙂

  5. Amy

    Leslie, this made me fall in love with you + your blog even more so than I already am!

    I honestly think our simple things are identical. Avocado + salt is the BEST! As is stone fruit. And the white bobby pins….so chic.

    I love this post 😀

  6. those stone fruits look so cute all lined up…
    i agree – light white clothes just SCREAMS summer….

  7. Water – Can’t live without it. Can’t leave the pad without my water bottle. I bring it with me everywhere – visiting friends, work, biking, shopping.
    Frozen bananas – Everyday dessert.

  8. OMG, I LOVE this post! I totally agree that sometimes it’s the simplest things in life that are the most wonderful.

    A good book that I just can’t put down, a cloudless sunny sky right when I go out to get some color, the strong feeling in my legs after a bike ride, giving my two older brothers a hug when they come back home to visit, a perfectly juicy plum… ahhh… love it all! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  9. verbalriot

    Banana & PB, fresh fruit and cheese slices 🙂

  10. Actually, I think all of those things are my simple favorites, save for the white clothing. I am way too clumsy to wear white!

    Avocados, bananas, almonds, stone fruit, water with lime, long walks with no destination are all excellent simple things I love. Not surprising that most of them are food 🙂

Leave a Reply

