grocery rules.

Last week, I was chatting on the phone with a friend while she was baking blueberry muffins.  I mentioned that she had me craving blueberries, but none were in my refrigerator.  And she responded, “So, why don’t you go to the store and buy some?”

My response?  “Oh, I can’t.  I’ll buy them on Monday.”  Most of the time, I abide by a strict rule:  replenish produce and grocery items once a week.  This practice saves both time and money, as long as a bit of planning is involved.  Too obsessive?  Maybe – but it’s been working for me.

Today I did one of those things you should never do if you’re trying to stick to a budget – I went to the grocery store without a list.

I just couldn’t decide what I felt like cooking this week, so I let the produce aisles be my muse.  Ironically, I ended up spending less than normal, but the challenge will be using only what I’ve bought and not returning to the store all week.

So this evening I wasn’t sure what I would dream up.  I knew I had bought two pounds of kale, so I figured that would be a good place to start.

fennel, sweet potato, thyme

I kept it simple, steaming the kale, a sweet potato, and a fennel bulb, then tossing all of them with olive oil and tofu leftover from summer roll night.  I finished with several sprigs of fresh thyme.

kale, fennel, sweet potato salad

I love using olive oil with kale; the flavors meld so perfectly.  This would be one for one for the random grocery trip.  I’ll see how the rest of the week goes.


Do you stick to a budget for your groceries?

14 Comments

Filed under dinner

14 responses to “grocery rules.

  1. traveleatlove

    I love grocery shopping so much that I never stick to a budget 😦 and I usually leave my list at home after I have spent half an hour working on it!

  2. Now that I’m living back home my parents have print out an Excel sheet to track our expenses. We also go to the grocery store probably 5 times a week! Though, there are 3 of us!! I love my produce though, and this way it works out pretty well. We rarely waste food!!

    Love the tofu action!!!!

  3. I usually stick to the budget since I always get the same things weekly. But whenever something looks fresh/interesting that I’d like to try, I’ll also get that.

  4. Kelsey

    i love that dish, its so summery and fresh! i want to recreate it because it has lots of my favorite things, but i have never had fresh fennel [at least, not that i remember!] so i think this is a must try!
    when i go grocery shopping, i always have a list that i never stray from so i guess that runs along the lines of a budget!

  5. I totally try to stick to a budget…it doesn’t always work though. I do go twice a month on Saturday and pick up produce between if I need it. I stick pretty firmly to that schedule.

  6. What a neat rule to stick to about once a week shopping. I usually do that during the school year, just because I don’t have time to shop during the week, but during the summer, I like to make small, frequent stops to the grocery store(s). I actually end up spending less because I only buy what I know I’ll use within the next few days.

    xxoo
    Heather

  7. We’ve been sticking to a budget since we joined a co-op. We spend about $100 a week, which is still a lot. Food is so expensive in our area…

    It looks like you picked up some good items for a really creative meal tonight.

  8. My Mum does most of the grocery shopping (I still live at home with parents 🙂 ) but I buy a lot of fresh produce that only I eat and I usually go for that on a weekend. I do try to have a budget, but then if I see something on sale I think well why on, it’s on sale 🙂

  9. I wish I had the discipline to only go to the grocery store once a week! I am one of those types who picks up a few things here and there several times a week. It gets a little expensive — I’ve gotta work on that! Maybe the excel spreadsheet, as described by gliding calm, is a good idea, but I really love being able to eat exactly what I want, when I want it. I guess I’m spoiled. 😛

  10. It depends on which grocery store I go too. If I am just going to stop & shop I stick to a budget, but whole foods/trader joes..not so much 🙂

  11. As much as I try to stick to a budget and list, I inevitably get sidetracked in the store and pick up some random things…not to mention, run out of other stuff mid-week. I end up picking up bits and pieces throughout the whole week. This week’s impulsive buy was spring roll wrappers so THANK YOU for pointint me towards your recipe- I had no idea what to do with them!

  12. I’ m the same way and go shopping once a week, unless we actually run out of something.

    I wish I could just shop without a list, but we have a very tight budget, so I have to plan our meals/snacks pretty well and know what we need and what we don’t.

  13. ah yes when i go grocery shopping without a list, i end up buying way more than planned, and having no clue what to make with it! i personally always need to be prepared with a list in hand.

  14. Alison

    When did you make this?? It looks so good! I must have been too consumed with my edammame, corn, tomato, hummus and pita special to notice 🙂

Leave a Reply

