breakfast for dessert.

I have dessert nearly every day.  I like to think of it as part of a balanced life:  I have the permission to eat whenever and whatever I choose.  

pancakesmaple syrup and pancakes (vwav recipe – the best!)

Dessert doesn’t necessarily mean sweets for me.  I’ve definitely had evening treats of a baked sweet potato or unsalted peanut butter on a spoon.  Of course, there are also nights when I’ll have ice cream.

apple and pecanscaramelized apple and pecans

I’ve never been a fan of prepackaged desserts.  My parents taught me that homemade always tastes better, and I’ve seen it proven many times.  Not being much of a baker, however, I don’t always have exciting dishes on hand for nighttime snack plates.

flax french toast bitesvanilla flax french toast (ground flax, vanilla soy milk, vanilla extract, maple syrup, cinnamon)

As a result, sometimes I end up choosing to enjoy breakfast for dessert.  I’ve yet to meet a breakfast food I don’t love (well, except for the European meats and crudités – not happening at 7 AM), but I also wake up craving oats every single day, so I don’t branch out much in the mornings.

cereal and almond milkcereal and almond milk

I can’t see a reason not to start and end the day with my favorite meal.  My real breakfasts may be triple the size of my dessert breakfasts – but size doesn’t matter.

watermelon oat smoothiewatermelon oat smoothie (watermelon, almond milk, plain yogurt, oats)



Are you a daily dessert eater, or do you save it for a special treat?  And what’s your favorite?

 

edited to add ingredients, since a few of you asked! 

15 Comments

Filed under snacks

15 responses to “breakfast for dessert.

  1. My breakfasts are definitely sweet and indulgent tasting, though pretty healthy I think. Agree 100% on homemade V pre-packaged, though like you, am not a baker so make my own concoctions stretching about as far as Greek yogurt, fruit and nut butters go 😛

    Do you have the recipe for that French toast? Looks incredible!

  2. Dessert is my favorite meal of the day. It’s usually consumed in chocolate or muffin form! 🙂

  3. Dessert is the best meal of the day! haha

    Everything in this post looks amazing! Care to share the recipe for the watermelon smoothie?

  4. verbalriot

    I find that I have to have something sweet or dessert-y like every day or I over indulge the next day!

    And I totally had cereal for dinner last night 🙂

  5. Oh my god! These pictures are incredible. I am seriously swooning over that flax french toast, and I’m not normally a fan of french toast at all!

    I used to be a HUGE dessert person. Every night – immediately after dinner. And I used to eat “100-calorie fudge pops” or things like that. Since the Cleaner Life challenge, I really don’t have cravings for things like that anymore. And if I do, I’ve been having one piece of dark chocolate – or Gena’s frozen banana ice cream. That’s been really doing the trick for me.

  6. Heck YES I am a dessert fan! I have to something sweet atleast once every day or I will get cranky. I would chose something sweet over something savory EVERY day.

    I love cereal after dinner too–it is filling and usually sweet. Good combo for me!

  7. foodnfit

    I definitely enjoy dessert! I wish I had it every night, don’t really know why I don’t. But I LOVE the idea for breakfast foods for dessert and especially for dinner yum!

  8. Ruth

    I am with you on these desserts. It’s a must have for everyday. Cereal is my all time favorite… especially with almond milk

    http://shefit.wordpress.com

  9. i don’t necessarily have a “traditional” dessert every day, but I love using things every day that FEEL decadent to me.

    Like trail mix with dark chocolate on my oatmeal, or a big smear of cinnamon raisin peanut butter on some toast or a sandwich.

  10. Danielle

    Oh Leslie, I agree with you on every single level. Actually so much so that I could have written this post… but then it may not have sounded so good and it definitely wouldn’t have as beautiful of photos ;).

    P.S. For everything that I love about breakfast and breakfast foods, I am not a fan of European morning meats and crudités either!

  11. Oh Leslie, I agree with you on every single level. Actually so much so that I could have written this post… but then it may not have sounded so good and it definitely wouldn’t have as beautiful of photos ;).

    P.S. For everything that I love about breakfast and breakfast foods, I am not a fan of European morning meats and crudités either!

  12. SweetKaroline

    leslie, i totally crave oats every morning too.

    i definitely eat dessert every day whether it’s a handful of chocolate chips or a coffee soy ice cream shake.

    i don’t count fruit as dessert. unless i’m feeling really healthy (ie. once or twice a year).

  13. I totally agree that desserts don’t have to be “unhealthy!” A dessert is just a little something extra in moderation. YUM!

    LOVING that vanilla flax french toast. Wow, looks so darn good! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  14. Watermelon smoothie? I have thought about it but havent been brave enough. Breakfast is anytime of the day for me. Love it. Nothing like a big bowl of oats for dessert!!

    ~Justine

  15. Love this post, because I’m a HUGE breakfast food lover! I HATE desserts, sorry. I just can’t stand sweet stuff. But like you, I have breakfast items for “dessert”…But I guess I call them snacks! Love oatmeal, with tons of chopped almonds and almond butter, or kabocha, or corn muffins…

Leave a Reply

