salsa squared.

Mexican is one of my favorite cuisines.  Obviously I love flavor, and with Mexican, I get flavor and heat.  Even better.

I’ve been meaning to attempt my own salsa for a while now, and I finally collected the ingredients this week.  Of course, I’ve been thinking about it for so long that I had too many ideas.

So, I made two.

black bean and corn salsa

  • 1 15 oz can black beans
  • 1 c corn kernels
  • 1 15 oz can diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1/2 c onion, chopped
  • 1/2 c sweet peppers, chopped
  • 1 green chili, deseeded and minced
  • 1 T cumin

Sauté onion in olive oil until soft.  Add peppers, sauté 2 minutes.  Add cumin, toss to coat.  Add black beans, corn, tomatoes and juice, and chili.  Simmer about 10 minutes, until tomato juice has been absorbed.  

mango and jicama salsa

  • 1.5 c jicama, diced into 1/4″ cubes
  • 1 mango, diced into 1/4″ cubes
  • 1/3 c fresh cilantro, chopped

Combine all ingredients.  That’s it! 🙂

salsas and avocado

On the plate with a side of avocado.  I believe my sister’s exact words were, “This is so good; I don’t want to eat it.”

I’m going to have some avocado mousse for dessert, which means I’ll have eaten an entire avocado today.  What?  Fat?  What’s that again? 



What’s your favorite Mexican dish?

11 Comments

Filed under dinner

11 responses to “salsa squared.

  1. Oh I think you know…guacamole!!!!

  2. verbalriot

    Mexican food is definitely one of my favorite cuisines! I cannot get enough of burritos. And I LOVE guacamole!

  3. fruitsveggieslife

    As a Native New Mexican – you know I love my salsa. 🙂 I eat it from the jar. Your black bean salsa looks wonderful.

  4. Love the mexican eats!

    Your salsa sounds + looks amazing!

  5. I still have yet to try real Mexican, so I’m refraining from saying I love Mexican food. I’ve only had Taco Bells and Chili’s so I doubt that’s even close to real Mexican food!
    I LOVE your double salsa, though! YUM!

  6. Amy

    Fabulous salsa recipes- I love Mexican ingredients and flavors…cilantro, avocado, black beans, roasted corn, peppers, tomato. Everything is so healthy too!

  7. andrenna

    what did you use as dippers??

  8. Yum. I could eat nice chunky salsa with a spoon and be happy.

  9. I do love a really good guacamole but it has to be chunky–I don’t like the smooth stuff.

    AND if you put a chili relleno on my plate, it will be licked clean!

  10. The black bean salsa looks amazing! I think I would just eat it by the bowlful!

  11. Oh yum. YUMZ.

    My fav is spicy pork in crunchy tacos. Or simple black beans and rice. Or a veggie quesadilla with sour cream and HOT salsa. Who am I kidding, I love it all.

Leave a Reply

