alternative hummus.

I hope everyone enjoyed their fourth, if you were celebrating!  Mine began peacefully with some of this:

beach

And ended on a less tranquil note with some of these:

margaritas

It’s all about balance.

After journeying on a packed train back to the city (in the company of apparently every other inhabitant of the island), I was craving something hearty, but not heavy for dinner.  

lentils, basil, garlic

I visited with a close friend this weekend who currently lives in Dubai, and we spent a bit of time discussing how incredible hummus tastes when enjoyed in its native region.  I remember eating hummus in Israel and proclaiming I would never be able to eat it back home again – it was just that good.  Still, I’ve wanted to make my own for quite some time.  At the moment I am without chickpeas or a food processor, so the traditional kind was out.  

With only a blender to work its magic, I chose lentils as the base, assuming they would blend easily.  Plus, they fulfilled my yen for “hearty-not-heavy.”

lentil hummus

  • 1/4 c dry lentils
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 1 T tahini
  • 1 t evoo
  • 5 fresh basil leaves
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cook lentils until soft, about 20-25 minutes.  Drain and place in blender with other ingredients.  Blend well.  Refrigerate minimum one hour.

I wasn’t sure how this would turn out, so I made the recipe small.  But, I’m sure it could be easily doubled or quadrupled for a heftier, longer-lasting amount.

lentils hummus, bread, vegetables

I enjoyed all that I made with dipping utensils:  swag bread, crackers, raw zucchini, carrots, and broccoli.  


How did you spend your fourth?

7 Comments

Filed under dinner

7 responses to “alternative hummus.

  1. Amy

    Your lentil hummus sounds divine. I’d love to try some authentic varieties in Israel or the med…Lucky! Glad you had an enjoyable 4th–I just spent some time with close friends ❤

  2. What a great idea! I have some lentils in my cabinet just waiting to be used up! This is just perfect.

  3. fearlessfabulousfulloflife

    LOVE the lentil hummus idea!!

    thanks soo much for your kind email! i’ve totally read your blog before but didn’t put two and two together– so sorry bout that! my email is down so thats why it took me so long to respond! have a great day and glad you had a nice holiday!:) xoxox

  4. That is a really neat idea! I make hummus at home too but need to make smaller amounts because it usually ends up going bad before I can eat it all.

  5. wow, what a platter! I love munchies like these, and the lentils are such an interesting base for hummus!

  6. Nicole

    I’m convinced that anything mixed with tahini will taste fabulous!

  7. YUMMMMM. Homemade hummus and margaritas! Looks fun love.

Leave a Reply

