sweet sugary sweet.

Confession:  Until recently, I was a staunch splenda addict.  

splenda

My sweet tooth is not strong by any means, but I nonetheless couldn’t quite seem to give this one up.

I knew about the controversial research and lack of conclusive results about its safety.  I place a great deal of emphasis on good health, yet I still found myself turning away from that knowledge.

agave

Sure, I read stories of people who had given up artificial sweeteners and actually lost weight.  But I convinced myself that if the calorie-free option was available, why not use it?  A bit of an odd argument considering I don’t eat, for instance, fast food, just because it is easily accessible.

maple syrup

I was aware that my splenda use was more than a bit hypocritical.  I pride myself on living a whole and natural lifestyle, and there I was, reaching into a bag of highly processed, artificial powder.  Each time I dropped a spoonful into my evening tea, I had to wonder what chemicals brought about the not-so-gentle buzzing that occurred as the powder dissolved into my mug.

dried figs, cherries, raisins

In all other areas, I was a strong proponent of the naturally sweet.  Bananas and dried fruit provide pure sugars to my morning oats; my yogurt frequently receives the same from the addition of berries.  I always cap off my lunch with a sweet piece of fruit, and if I bake, I choose agave, honey, or maple syrup.

fruit

I tried to quit my splenda habit twice, but the final place that it remained was in tea.  Ironic, considering the plethora of health benefits that come to tea drinkers.  And yet, I wasn’t really tasting the tea; my tongue was instead overpowered by mock sweetness.

A couple months ago, I was standing over my counter, steeping my evening decaffeinated cup, spoon in hand, gaze fixed on the splenda jar.  I realized I had absolutely no desire to ingest it.  

Sometimes healthy habits just click.  Simple as that, I haven’t eaten it once since.


How do you feel about artificial sweeteners?  Do you stick with the naturally sweet?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “sweet sugary sweet.

  1. I will not touch artificial sweeteners! Who knows what they contain!!!

    So glad you aren’t eating them anymore, the natural stuff is where its at 😉

  2. Amy

    I love the photos of naturally sweet foods in this post-so gorgeous!

    I use sugar-free syrup for sweetening unsweetened Almond Milk, and Equal in my coffee/tea. I feel the same way you do. I am all about whole/natural/organic food, but yet I opt for zero-calorie chemical powder. That’s why I’m trying to transition to using stevia/Truvia–its just that I love the taste of Equal!

  3. I transitioned off artificial sweeteners when I came off refined sugar. It seemed good to try and make the switch and the same time and this has worked really well for me. There is an abundance of lovely natural sweeteners (which you have highlighted in beautiful pictures in this post) which I like to employ instead.

  4. I was definitely addicted to artificial sweeteners. I was so excited when splenda came out because I felt it was more natural than equal (and obviously tasted better) but much like you, I have shaken this habit because it made me feel hypocritical. I own truvia but I try not to use it.

  5. Artificial sweeteners scare me too… I’m just not a fan of unnaturally flavoring my foods and beverages. Most of the time I also don’t have too much of a sweet tooth so I prefer them sugar-less. If I need some for baking or such I go for agave 🙂

  6. P.S. Congrats on saying goodbye to splenda !

  7. traveleatlove

    My parents totally scared us away from any artificial sweeteners when we were little so I have never had a taste for them. Diet soda always really grossed me out, and things like splenda and sweet and low always tasted so wrong.
    I like a little real sugar though. If I am going to have it, I would rather the real thing!

  8. I was addicted to Sweet n’ Low for several years. One day, I decided to stop – and I haven’t had any in more than 2 months now. I don’t miss it anymore.

Leave a Reply

