buried treasure.

Living in a New York apartment, I have to take advantage of every inch of storage space I have.   My shelves are packed from back to front and top to bottom; the space under my bed doubles as a storeroom; even my ottomans open to reveal sheets and pillows folded inside.  It’s no surprise that things occasionally get lost in the crevices.  

A few days ago, while reorganizing some cabinets in my kitchen, I uncovered a couple bags of forgotten bulk bin goodies.  I almost always buy my grains from bulk bins – the savings is always worth it, and the selection is often very wide.  One of the treasure bags from my shelf contained just enough bulk bin kasha for one, and since my sister chose to have an early dinner of her own creation, tonight seemed the perfect opportunity to finish off the bag myself.

kasha and basil

Because my parents so generously brought in groceries last weekend, I haven’t done much in the way of meal planning this week.  Most of my meals have been the result of long stares into my refrigerator – that machine can be quite the muse.

Tonight my eye settled upon the container of basil I received on the shoot yesterday.  I pulled out some green, got the kasha cooking, and plugged in the blender to get creative.

roasted pepper and basil tapenade

  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1/4 c fresh basil
  • 1/4 c kalamata olives
  • 2 t evoo, divided

Preheat oven to 350.  Slice pepper and toss with 1 t olive oil.  Roast for 20 minutes.  Place pepper in blender with other ingredients; blend until a thick paste forms.

roasted pepper tapenade

I used some as a topping for a pile of ingredients:

kasha, vegetables, tapenade

Bottom up: baby spinach, kasha, asparagus, broccoli, black beans, and tapenade.  Topped with some cashews, just because I love them.  A random mix, but delicious nonetheless.



What do you think you’d find hidden in your cabinets?

1 Comment

Filed under dinner

One response to “buried treasure.

  1. I actually have a bunch of stuff I found in the back of my pantry…but the problem is, with no labels, I have no idea what they are! I think one of them is whole wheat pastry flour?
    But, amazing dish! that tapenade sounds SO flavorful, and I love the burst of colors!

Leave a Reply

