nutcracker muesli.

Hello everyone!  I had quite the long day today, and my dinner was provided courtesy of caterers on a photo shoot.  I was pleasantly surprised to see fresh spreads presented throughout the day (including fresh figs and cherries!) – good food keeps me going strong.  

I often find that I live in my own healthy little bubble, where all food is nutrient-rich and nourishing.  And when I exit my bubble, I remember that the majority of our society does not operate that way.  It was very satisfying to see my kind of food provided today.  Maybe everyone else is slowly catching on!  A girl can dream.

Anyhow, I don’t have an exciting dinner recipe to share, but I did have a lovely breakfast that kept me well fueled for a morning of unpacking wardrobe boxes and steaming tablecloths (I know – glam).  On days that I know will be stressful and lengthy, I always make sure that I leave time to sit with my breakfast.  Taking those moments to sip coffee and savor oats helps me start the day in a relaxed, serene fashion.

My morning muesli certainly fit that mood.  [Slightly related:  I tend to enjoy meals that are visually pleasing at all times of day except breakfast.  At breakfast, I am a firm fan of messes.]

plum muesli

“sugar” plum muesli (measurements are approximate)

  • 1/2 c oats
  • 1 ripe plum, chopped
  • 2 T raisins
  • 2 T pecans
  • 2 T almonds
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • couple splashes vanilla soy milk
  • couple spoonfuls plain yogurt

Mix ingredients well and soak overnight in the fridge.  In the morning, add a few more splashes of soy milk.  Best enjoyed alongside coffee and a ripe banana (or maybe that’s just me).


What’s your strategy for handling a long day?  

3 Comments

Filed under breakfast

3 responses to “nutcracker muesli.

  1. I am so in love with your blog right now! It is just so interesting and that makes me look forward to reading it! Just wanted to tell you that. haha

    For a long day, I plan to have lots of small snacks handy. This helps keep my energy up and helps me stay positive.

  2. Kelsey

    i have a few plums that are ready to be consumed and didn’t really want to just eat ’em up plain. i love your idea + the name is super cute!
    i’m an architecture major, so i’m working in studio pretty much 24/7 + i need to eat pretty frequently to keep me happy and sane. i would bring apples, bars (i like clif + luna + odwalla + think fruit), and plenty of water + coffee (i actually have a coffee maker by my desk in studio + an espresso machine in my apt!). and speaking of a healthy bubble! everyone else (of course, they are college students after all) would munch on candy + chips + soda. i just cant function with crap food like that!

  3. That breakfast looks delicious and filling.

    I try and prepare/plan/pack as much as possible. There’s nothing worse than driving home after a long day and starving!

Leave a Reply

