cucumber cool.

This past weekend, my mom brought me the largest cucumber I have ever seen.  I remember someone in Israel telling me that American produce scared him, and cucumbers should be small and eaten whole, not engineered to the size of a baseball bat.  Enter the bat:

cucumber

This afternoon I used part of it in the most delicious, refreshing smoothie:

  • ~ a cup of frozen papaya
  • 1 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1″ cube ginger, peeled
  • 1/4 baseball bat-sized cucumber
  • big handful baby spinach

Blend blend blend to get this:

cucumber ginger smoothie

If you have a blender from say, Target, as I do, I would recommend chopping the cucumber and mincing the ginger first, just to help along the poor little machine.  The taste was smooth yet spicy – really wonderful for a warm summer day, before the skies opened up and drenched us.

Even though I got soaked in our daily rainstorm, I still decided on a cold soup for dinner.  My apartment doesn’t get a lot of air circulation, so I dried off quickly and got to work in the kitchen.

cucumber dill soup 

  • 1 c cucumber, chopped
  • 1/4 c fresh dill
  • 2-3 T scallions
  • 1 small garlic clove
  • 1/2 c plain yogurt (I used Greek)
  • 1/2 T evoo
  • 1/4 t black pepper
  • pinch salt
  • pinch cayenne

Add all ingredients to the blender, and pulse away until smooth.

I added some hot sauce to mine and served it alongside crackers and a shockingly normal sized salad of white beans, cherry tomatoes, steamed spinach, olive oil, and Greek seasoning.  

crackers, cucumber soup, white bean salad

This was such ideal summertime fare.  What’s your favorite warm-weather meal?

5 Comments

Filed under dinner, snacks

5 responses to “cucumber cool.

  1. Favorite warm weather meal…a whole watermelon! haha

  2. AHHHHH! I love, LOVE, love your pictures! I don’t even love cucumber that much and your pictures have me wanting to eat every bit of that cucumbery goodness.

  3. cucumber dill soup! Looks lovely, and so refreshing…I’m not such a cucumber-fan, but seeing your post has given me some serious cravings…

  4. Definitely gazpacho. Or grilled romaine lettuce hearts with just some cherry tomatoes, carrots shreds and some blue cheese dressing.

    Happiness Awaits

  5. Maris

    Favorite warm weather meal? Hmm… mine would have to be some sort of seafood or salad. Although I’m a freak of nature – I like hot soup in the summer, I just crank up the AC!

Leave a Reply

