adventures in baking.

I am incapable of following a recipe.  

This is one of the prime reasons why I rarely bake, because experimentation in baking requires more scientific knowledge than I currently have.  

I’ve had my eye on these for a while, since almond butter and maple syrup are two of my (many) favorite foods.  They both happen to also be very expensive, so between the spendthrift in me and my lack of baking skills, I kept putting it off.

But since my last batch of cookies went relatively well, I decided it was time to try something new.  Then the wheels started turning, and the recipe kind of went out the window.

pb cookie ingredients

Oops.

These were just okay – I thought the white chocolate pb would be sweet enough on its own, but I think it would be better with the addition of some honey or agave.  Any bakers have advice?

white chocolate peanut butter drops

  • 1/3 c white chocolate peanut butter
  • 2 T canola oil
  • 2/3 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 t baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 2-3 T water, as needed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix peanut butter and oil until well combined.  Mix dry ingredients.  Pour wet into dry.  Add water if dough is too dry.  Place on greased baking sheet.  Bake for 8 minutes.  Makes 12 small cookies.

IMG_2008

I really had no idea what was going to happen when I put these in the oven, so I was surprised to see them actually rise.  Baking is such a strange thing.



What’s your favorite nut butter treat?

6 Comments

Filed under baking

6 responses to “adventures in baking.

  1. thank you soo much for your sweet comment leslie– it means so much to me! especially when i find out other people have gone through the same experience– it definitely helps ‘make it more real’ to me 🙂

    those PB treats look FABULOUS! i’ll have to try them sometime!!!! lovin your blog!!! xoxox

  2. ps- i REALLY love your last post on off limit foods! i remember when i was in high school NOTHING was off limits– now most of my favorite things are some of my ‘fear’ foods– i mean theres nothing i WONT eat– but it definitely brings along some anxiety when i eat something that i do not know the calorie content– however i’ve become MUCH better at it! which is why i have SUCH an easier time eating dinner out than other meals– since dinner is my last meal of the day i ‘know’ how much i have to ‘play around with’ so its easier for me– i’m trying to challenge myself to eat more lunches and things out– its getting easier and easier 🙂

    xoxoxox j

  3. haha, the baking soda is what made it rise! It actually looks quite good…if it’s not sweet enough, maybe you can just drizzle maple syrup or honey over with some cinnamon…
    I like melted almond butter all ovr my pumpkin oats!

  4. Those cookies look good to me, girl! I would definitely love to bite into one right now.

    I love to spread Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter on a chocolate chip cookie. Warm and melty, of course.

  5. Those cookies look amazing to me!

  6. Reading the comments, I have a feeling that you created a success.

Leave a Reply

