ra-ta-too-ee.

I was first introduced to ratatouille when I was thirteen years old.  

My sister and I were visiting our grandparents in Florida, and they treated us to an elegant meal at Brooks Restaurant.  As an amuse bouche to each and every diner, the chefs provided a small, colorful cup of mysteriously marinated vegetables.  At that point of my life, I refused to eat a piece of pasta if a speck of parsley had touched it.  A whole cup of vegetables?  That was not happening.

IMG_1962

Growing up is a funny thing.  Ratatouille contains most of my now favorite summer vegetables.  It is simple enough to let their natural tastes shine, yet the blend gives it a very full-bodied flavor.  And other than the chopping, it’s a relatively low-maintenance recipe.  

Tonight I pre-roasted some of the vegetables to cut down on cooking time, because I was rather hangry when I began the cooking process.

ratatouille

  • 1 medium eggplant, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1 medium zucchini, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into 1/2 inch strips
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 c roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 c fresh basil, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 c vegetable broth
  • 1 T evoo

Preheat oven to 400.  Roast eggplant, zucchini, and pepper for 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, heat oil over medium heat.  Sauté onion until soft; about 7 minutes.  Add garlic; sauté 1 minute.  Add eggplant, zucchini, pepper, tomatoes, and vegetable broth.  Lower heat; simmer, covered, about 20 minutes.  Stir in basil just before serving.


On the plate tonight were a couple nice big scoops of ratatouille, baked yuca, and cannellini beans tossed in cilantro pesto.  This was a perfect summertime meal.

IMG_1964

 

So who’s going to the Healthy Living Summit?  I am!

7 Comments

Filed under dinner

7 responses to “ra-ta-too-ee.

  1. YAY! You are going?!? That is awesome. I wish I was–it is just too far for me to travel and I am a college student. Not much money in the bank. haha

    Your eats look delicious!

  2. I’m going! 🙂

    See you there…love the ra-ta-too-ee!

  3. Ratatouille is one of my favorite cooked dishes! And I am going, too 🙂

  4. annaalstondonnelly

    OMG I think I just died. Your dinner looks totally ridiculously good. Thanks so much for the ratatouille recipe- you can bet I will be trying it!

  5. I’ve never tried ratatouille before, it looks good!

    I’m going to Boston! 😀

  6. I am going. Cannot wait. Now just need to find a flight from DC!

    Happiness Awaits

Leave a Reply

