snacktime.

Growing up, snacks were a key part of my day.  I remember taking snack breaks on elementary school mornings, munching on the Smartfood cheddar popcorn dutifully packed by my mom.  I loved a thick slice of bakery challah as an after school snack, and I often enjoyed a hearty scoop of chocolate ice cream for dessert.  

I can’t exactly recall when or why snacktime exited my life.

IMG_1748

Perhaps it was when school became serious.  I was a conscientious overachiever who spent 5 hours a day on middle school homework.  I’m sure I spent more of my seventh grade experience reading my social studies textbook and listening to ‘N Sync than thinking about what to eat.

IMG_1909

Perhaps it was when money took a front seat.  I spent several summers on my feet with my lips curved up in a permanent smile as a waitress, saving up tips for European travel.  I worked during “meal times” and ate during “snack times.”  I can’t remember thinking much of it; I simply ate when I could.

IMG_1928

Maybe it was college.  Snacks seemed only to have associations such as “freshman fifteen” or “alcohol-induced.”

IMG_1741

There was an unfortunate time where I thought the only acceptable snacks were raw vegetables or fruit.  Thankfully, today I look at my snacks as mini meals designed to keep my energy up throughout the day. 

IMG_1931

 Plus, they taste good.


How often do you snack?

9 Comments

Filed under snacks

9 responses to “snacktime.

  1. I snack once a day usually around 3 or 4. If I feel a little hungry at bedtime, I will also have a cup of hot tea or grab a few TJ’s dark chocolate edamame. LOVE the pics, they are gorgeous. Your blog is just so cool!

  2. can i just say WOOOHOOO! to N*SYNC!

    N*SYNC for life! If/WHEN they make a come back tour, I may have to quit my job and follow them around on the road. I heart them.

    I went to Backstreet Boys and New Kids on the Block Concerts this year and it just wasn’t the same. Fun times, but it wasn’t the same.

  3. I find that snacks are great when I’m moving around all day, but when I’m not, I just like to eat 3 big meals so I don’t go roaming the cupboards….

  4. I love to snack! Especially on that White Chocolate Wonderland peanut butter! YUM!

    I usually have 2 snacks a day. One in the afternoon and one after dinner. It keeps me from be grouchy and grumbly. 😉

  5. I am a definite snacker, especially because I hit the gym over my lunch break. I usually have an AM snack to fuel my workout (around 11-11:30) and then I usually have an afternoon snack, any where from 4-6, depending on hunger and when dinner is planned.

    I cannot survive without snacks!

    Happiness Awaits

  6. Meg

    Hi Leslie! Thanks for commenting on my blog! I really appreciate the kind words 🙂

    I LOVE to snack! I usually have about 3-4 snacks a day, or whenever I feel like my body could use a pick-me-up. I see you’ve got some White Choc. Wonderful, definitely a favorite snack addition of mine as well 😉 I especially love snacking before/after workouts. I’ve recently fallen in love with Green Monsters!

    What combo do you use in your GM?

    Love,
    Meg

    • Meg,

      I change my GMs all the time! Mango and papaya are two of my favorite fruits to use, and I love adding avocado for extra creaminess or oats for texture. I’m a big fan of variety. 🙂

  7. I could not live without snacks. I might have two a day.

  8. I snack 2-3 times a day. Depends on how hungry I am.

    Mmm, I love WCW PB!

Leave a Reply

