kashi crafted.

Thank you to everyone for such amazingly kind words on my post earlier.  I am thrilled to have a place to share these thoughts, and I can’t express how much I appreciate everyone who has taken the time to read.

So, then there was dinner.

IMG_1912 

No, not a banana – that would be waiting for my oats tomorrow morning.  This was a very ripe plantain – an ingredient I adore but had never previously bought myself.

Awhile back, Kashi launched a new frozen meal entitled “Mayan Harvest Bake,” which immediately caught my eye.  It’s an extremely rare occasion when I pay the slightest attention to a frozen meal (though if you were going to have one, I think Kashi would probably be the way to go).

My version, for 2, contained:

  • 1 c cooked red beans
  • 3ish c steamed kale
  • 1 ripe plantain, thinly sliced and roasted
  • chili powder, coriander, allspice to taste
  • 2 servings polenta (recipe below)
  • agave drizzle on top

easy polenta (serves 1)

  • 1/4 c corn meal
  • 1 c unsweetened almond milk (or milk of your choice)
  • 1 t earth balance (or butter of your choice)
  • 1 T nutritional yeast, or 2 T fresh grated parmesan

Mix corn meal and almond milk in saucepan.  Bring to a boil.  Lower heat to medium; whisk constantly for 10-15 minutes.  The consistency should be thick, with no lumps.  Remove from heat; stir in earth balance and nutritional yeast.  Serve immediately.


This meal became a little bit interesting after I turned our (gas) stove on to heat the polenta mix and ignored it while destemming the kale.  5 minutes later I started to smell gas – the flame had never caught!  I promptly turned it off, opened our balcony door, and turned on a fan, but there was no way I was going to attempt lighting a flame.

Therefore, this entire meal was cooked in the microwave.  If only I had known I could do this back in college – maybe there would’ve been less easy mac consumption (I am still scarred from that).

IMG_1916

6 Comments

Filed under dinner

6 responses to “kashi crafted.

  1. Oh wow! I love this. I really liked that Kashi entree, Mayan Harvest Bake, but I hated how small and measly the portion was. Yay now I can make my own HUGE version!

  2. andrenna

    that looks freaking good. i never saw that kashi meal, but i think i’ll skip it now and make this version instead. thanks for the meal ideas, you are very innovative!

  3. Oh Easy Mac–my friends are still obsessed with that stuff!

    Oh and funny story, when I was in middle school one of my bff’s burnt her easy mac. She did not add water and it exploded in her microwave. Poor thing! haha, she was kind of ditzy.

    🙂

  4. Great idea! I love that Kashi meal but its so expensive!

  5. A

    Beautiful dinner!! I’m not a huge banana or plantain fan but I may keep this in mind for my plantain lovin’ hubby! 🙂
    -A

  6. wow this is amazing!! I can’t believe that you made that all in the microwave!

Leave a Reply

