salsa verde soup.

 

IMG_1884

As I mentioned on my about page, I adore produce shopping.  I have a definite weakness for ingredients I’ve never used before; even if I’ve never tasted a certain vegetable, I often find myself purchasing it and dreaming up ways to cook with it later.

I’ve been eyeing tomatillos for a while now, and with all the green I’ve been loving lately, it was time to add them to my grocery cart.  I knew their traditional use was in salsa verde, but I was looking for a way to feature them in a main course.

The result started out as salsa verde soup – although in the end it wasn’t remotely verde in color.  A rare non-green meal!

mexican tomatillo soup (serves 2)

  • 5 tomatillos
  • 1/2 T lime juice
  • 1/2 T lime zest
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 medium avocado
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/2 c red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 can diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1 c cooked black beans
  • 2 t chili powder
  • 1 t cumin
  • 1/4 c fresh cilantro
  • salt and pepper

Preheat oven to broil.  Slice tomatillos in half and place on baking sheet.  Broil for 5 minutes.  Place tomatillos, lime juice and zest, garlic, and avocado in blender.  Pulse to combine and set aside.

Sauté onion in medium saucepan until soft; about 7 minutes.  Add cumin and chili powder; sauté 30 seconds.  Add pepper and tomatoes with juice; simmer about 5 minutes.  

Add half the onion mixture to the tomatillos and blend together.  Return blended mixture to saucepan; add black beans and simmer about 5 minutes.  Stir in cilantro, salt, and pepper to taste just before serving.

 

We had it over brown rice; I added extra chili powder to mine because my sister tends to have a phobia of all things spicy.  It definitely doesn’t look pretty, but it tasted good!

IMG_1888

3 Comments

Filed under dinner

3 responses to “salsa verde soup.

  1. It DOES look good! Not pretty, but definitely looks like the sort of tasty grub that you just want to dig into and lick the bowl clean. YUM!

  2. wow! this recipe sounds great! a must-make this summer…

    i love soup over brown rice. i might even try topping it with raw corn and avocado, yum.

Leave a Reply

