go-to dinner.

When I grocery shop for the week, I usually have a basic idea of what I’m going to cook.  But inevitably, there will be a night in the week where I find myself staring into the fridge, desperately in need of an idea.  I’ve learned to attack with a no-fail plan:

First, I chop up and roast some vegetables:

IMG_1751

Perfect for summer: eggplant, zucchini, summer squash, yellow pepper.

Meanwhile, pick a grain and a protein:

IMG_1752

Tonight it was quinoa and chickpeas.  I like to cook my grains in vegetable broth or add a few splashes of wine for extra flavor.

I always add some green:

IMG_1753

Layer it all on a plate, and garnish as you please!  Here I chose freshly ground black pepper and herbed goat cheese.

IMG_1762

On a Friday night, I think this can be classified as “wine-sipping fuel.”  

What’s your go-to meal?

6 Comments

Filed under dinner

6 responses to “go-to dinner.

  1. verbalriot

    What a beautiful dinner! I like how you include all the elements: veggies, protein and grains, together.

    Go-to meal? A lot of the times it’s cereal or oatmeal! If I have a bit more time, some sort of veggie and bean concoction.

  2. so what exercises is your new PT allowing you to do? mine said I can bike and swim, but no running.

  3. I am loving your blog girl! The food sounds amazingly delicious and the pictures are beautiful!

    Welcome to the blog world, I look forward to reading more posts =)

  4. traveleatlove

    That looks delicious! My go to is veggie chili with whatever I can find tossed in, topped with TJ’s Greek yogurt, avocado, and hot sauce. Yummmmm.

  5. Pingback: the whole plate

  6. Pingback: the whole plate

Leave a Reply

